Ramadhan 2017 – Day 10 cum Family Iftar

Alhamdulillah today mark the 10th day of fasting.

Yesterday our family held an iftar session at my abode. Not everyone was able to come. Nevertheless, it was still fun gathering and breaking our fast together.

Snaps of the iftar … (photo taken by my niece Suria)

Our main menu was Gado-Gado, provided by yours truly. The rest of the foods such as otah-otah, takoyaki, Nasi jagung dan lauk pauknya, donut, home-made ice-cream were brought by my sister, nieces and nephews.  My girls had fun making the takoyaki real-time with her cousins 🙂

Home made takoyaki … my niece, Aishah brought along the electric maker over to the house and made them on the spot, together with her two assistance (my eldest and Nisa)

This year, Alhamdulillah, even though not all were able to come, we still had our 3 generations of the Mahmood family together and of course, the kids, our 3rd generation of the Mahmood clan were the stars of the day 🙂

During our meet-up, we also took the opportunity to discuss the plan for our family Raya outing. Another annual event that usually happens during the 2nd day of Eid or 1st weekend of Eid.

This year marked the 4th year we plan our outing together by renting a mini bus (which include the driver). Also, this will be the 2nd year in a row, our eldest sister and BIL will be joining us. Insya’Allah, they will be coming down from Brunei on the eve of Eid itself.

Looking forward to Eid and yet at the same time I’m reluctant for Ramadhan to leave. I am grateful for being able to live and experience this year’s Ramadhan. Before the arrival of the blessed month, I was not confident of being able to do what I should be doing but Allah s.w.t., being the Most Merciful has continue to surprise and shower me with His mercy and blessings. I am humbled by my experience and the opportunity given to me. It is more that I had hope for. Alhamdulillah Ya Rabb!

Hoping the coming days will be fruitful for us all as well and continue onwards even beyond Ramadhan!

Before I end this post, I’m just going to share a quote from one of the Sahabah, Abdullah Bin Mas’ud r.a., which I am typing it down in Malay.  This quote, is more of a reminder to myself which I hope I will be able to hold tight insya’Allah!

“Taat, jangan maksiat. Ingat Allah, jangan lupa. Syukur, jangan kufur.”

These words contain the important message on how to live life.  Obey God, Do not commit sins, Remember God always, Be a grateful person.

Khalas!

Leave a Reply

