Marketing and CNY

I don’t often go to the market these daya but when I do, i would mostly go to the one near my house.

It’s not an actual market but it has sufficient stalls to cater to our needs.

The “Little Matket” has 3 vegetables stall, 3 fish stalls (one of it is run by a muslim palcik), 2 stalls selling bean curd, beansprouts etc, 2 fruit stalls and 2 dry goods stalls.

Today, I went to buy 2 kg of chicken wings from the pakcik and some vegetables. My, I have never seen the little market so busy and crowded as it is today. Thanks to the upcoming Lunar New Year, looks like everyone is rushing to do ther marketing.

The last few years there has been an improvement … Not so bad cos a few supermarket would actually be open on the 2nd day of CNY.

I remember how during my childhood days, when it came to CNY, the markets and shops would close for a week. My late mother would stock up the fridge full to ensure we have enough foods on the table till the shops open again.

But society perception and habit has changed. Now people are more practical and economy conscious since it’s not easy to make money these days, especially for those in the business line. Thanks to the change in mindset, many stalls are open by the 2nd or 3rd day of CNY.

As for me…..It has been almost 5 years that I have been making a habit to have my own family reunion dinner just like the Chinese during the eve of Chinese …afterall I am half Chinese and I find it a good culture to adopt. The previous years we had steamboats but this year instead of reunion dinner, we will instead have a birthday lunch as a get together.

InsyaAllah, our family of 5 and about 14 of my 2nd daughter’s friends will be having lunch at home to celebrate her 14th birthday.

Woohoo!!! Best of all, I will be on vacation till Monday, thanks to the long public holidays 😉

Gong Xi Fa Cai everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

