The nafs …

Quote from today Serenity (posted by Yasmin Mogahed)

“Sometimes, the fact that there is that nafs, and the fact that there is that struggle, and there is that storm inside of me; is what is pushing me to seek refuge and to seek shelter. And had their not been that inner battle and that inner storm, I might not have sought any refuge in Allah. I might have felt safe on my own. So it’s the nafs itself, that if responded to properly, actually pushes me closer to Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala. Because of that battle. And I know that I can’t do it on my own. I cannot seek refuge in my own self, from my nafs. Because my nafs is my own self. I can’t call the police to help me with my nafs. I can’t call the ghost busters. I can’t call anybody else; there’s nobody who can help me against my own nafs, but Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala.”

 

My reflections :

After reading this quote, it brought a new perspective on how I look at my struggle with myself.  This just affirm the wisdom that whatever good or bad that I experience so far in my life, there are indeed hidden blessings unknown to me.  Alhamdulillah, for this sharing, as it has help to open my minds and hopefully I will be able to handle myself better when I am at the low point of my iman.  May Allah bless sister Yasmin for posting this quote and May Allah bless our scholars for they are like the light that beacon us out of darkness when the darkness prove to be too much for us to handle.

Amin amin Ya Rabb!

3 thoughts on “The nafs …

  1. Sri says:

    That is what it is all about,fasting,right.Nafs under control.It is normal to feel despair and whatnots as those will lead to asking Allah swt for help.SOS 24/7,free to talk at any length at any time 🙂 Take care busu.Hugs.

  2. May Allah help you to spread authentic Islamic knowledge and revive the sunnah as well as hold on the rope of Allah as the companions of our Prophet Mumuhammad {saw} held it.

    If you have time, please visit my site :

    http://albasairislamicmedia.wordpress.com/

    It will be a gift gor me if you give me any suggetion.JAJAKALLAH KHAYR.

Leave a Reply

